Serve New Mexico Commission Annual Business Meeting Minutes May 22, 2020

Commissioners in Attendance

Erin Atkins Alicia Benavidez Jorja Armijo-Brasher Bernadine Dallago Chanelle Delgado Alice Perez **Dolores Gonzales** Elaine Graff Jessica Harvey Nancy Hughes Charles Humiston Laura Jagles Renee Lowden (via conference line) Justin Paul MacDonald Josefina Mata David Medrano Matthew Montoya, Chair Ryan Steinmetz Andrew Tulchin

Staff in Attendance

Yolanda Montoya Cordova, Deputy Cabinet Secretary Bradley Knipper, Program Officer Logan Rice, Senior Program Officer Samuel Sokolove, Executive Director

Corporation for National and Community Service

Zanquetta Gray, Senior Portfolio Manager

Guests

Marina Arbetman Rabinowitz, Consultant

Chair Montoya convened the meeting at 12:05, which was held on-line via Zoom due to state requirements on public gatherings during the COVID19 pandemic.

March 20, 2020 Minutes

Zanquetta Gray asked that the March 20, 2020 minutes be corrected to reflect her attendance; with this correction noted, Commissioner Graff moved to accept; Commissioner Armijo-Brasher seconded. March 20, 2020 Minutes were approved with no objections or abstentions.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

RFA 20-631-7004-00078 (FORMULA POOL)

Motion to enter Executive Session, Pursuant to Open Meetings Act was presented by Commissioner Atkins:

10-15-1 Formation of Public Policy; H. The provisions of Subsections A,B, and G of this section do not apply to: 6) That portion of meetings at which a decision concerning purchases in an amount exceeding two thousand five hundred dollars that can be made only from one source and that portion of meetings at which the contents of competitive sealed proposals solicited pursuant to the Procurement Code are discussed during the contract negotiation process. The actual approval of purchase of the items or final action regarding the selection of a contractor shall be made in an open meeting.

Commissioner Perez seconded. Commissioner Gonzales asked that she be recused from voting. Discussion followed.

Motion to Exit Executive Session

Commissioner Atkins moved to exit Executive Session. Commissioner Graff seconded. Commissioner Montoya took roll call:

Alice Perez
Hank Humiston
Erin Atkins
Jessica Harvey
Renee Lowden (via conference line)
Jorja Armijo-Brasher
Bernadine Dallago
Elaine Graff

Nancy Hughes
Andrew Tulchin
Josefina Mata
Justin Paul MacDonald
Chanelle Delgado
Ryan Steinmetz
Alicia Benavidez
Laura Jagles
Dolores Gonzales

Motion to approve the funding recommendations as presented was made by Commissioner Atkins; Commissioner Dallago seconded.

The below funding recommendations were approved as presented with no objections and one abstention:

SERVE NEW MEXICO COMMISSION RFA 20-631-7004-00078 (FORMULA POOL) Formula Results Summary (Responsive Applications Recommended for Funding Scoring 80 Points or Above)

- Boys and Girls Club of Central New Mexico: \$232,176
- DreamTree Project: \$124,064
- EcoServants: \$288,055
- Families and Youth Inc.: \$278,036
- NM First (Planning Grant) \$35,000
- Not Forgotten Outreach: \$92,657
- Teach For America—New Mexico: \$47,000
- Mandy's Farm (Continuation): \$191,679
- Roadrunner Food Bank (Continuation) \$214,328

2020-2021 Slate of Officers

- Matthew Montoya, Chair
- Bernadine Dallago, First Vice Chair
- · Alice Perez, Second Vice Chair
- Jorja Armijo-Brasher, Member-at-Large

Schedule of Meetings 2020-2021

October 2, December 18, March 16, and May 18

Commissioner Dallago moved to accept this schedule; Commissioner Atkins seconded. Calendar approved with no objections.

CNCS Report

Zanquetta Gray discussed COVID19 relief efforts through the seven-state Mountain Region; four states (Arizona, Colorado, Idaho and New Mexico) are involved in contact tracing.

Ms. Gray detailed the range of flexibility CNCS has offered programs and Commissions during the COVID19 pandemic to allow members to receive the benefits of service despite unavoidable disruptions. She also called the Commission's attention to the fact that National Service will continue in Rio Arriba County through VISTA programming.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Commissioner Graff moved to adjourn; Commissioner Atkins seconded. The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.