tMPLOYER RECORDS

Whenever any child is employed at any gainful
occupation permitted by law, it is the responsibility of
the employer of such child to keep on file the work
permit and to keep posted in a conspicuous place
about the premises where such child is employed. All
work permits and records and the premises where
children are employed are subject to inspection by a
representative of the Labor Relations Division.

ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY

The New Mexico Department of Workforce
Solutions (NMDWS) enforces rules for employing
and protecting child performers in the entertainment
industry, including motion pictures, theatrical,
radio, and television productions. The rules
require employers to follow educational and safety
requirements stated in rules 11.1.4.1-15 NMAC

and the statutes 50-6-1 to 50-6-19 NMSA 1978.
Complete rules on children in the entertainment
industry can be found at www.dws.state.nm.us
under “Labor Relations,” and “Child Labor.”

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS

State: The Department of Workforce Solutions

investigates complaints against employers who
may be violating the child labor laws. Whoever

is in violation of any of the provisions of sections
50.6.1-50.6.16 NMSA 1978 may be guilty of a
misdemeanor and monetary fines may be imposed
for each violation.

Federal: Regulations provide for a civil monetary
penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation of child
labor provisions.

More detailed information on the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) is available from the
U.S. Department of Labor at:

www.dol.gov/whd/flsa

CONTACT INFORMATION

Labor Relations Division
Labor & Industrial Bureau, Wage & Hour Section

Albuquerque Office
121 Tijeras NE, Suite 3000
Albuguerque, NM 87102

Phone: (505) 841-4400
Fax: (505) 841-4424

Las Cruces Office
226 S. Alameda Blvd
Las Cruces, NM 88005

Phone: (575) 524-6195
Fax: (575) 524-6194

Santa Fe Office
1596 Pacheco Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Phone: (505) 827-0091
Fax: (505) 827-9676

e GONNECT WITH US!
u Twitter: www.twitter.com/nmdws \

E YouTube: www.youtube.com/nmdws

@ Instagram: www.instagram.com/nmdws
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FOR COMPLETE INFORMATION, VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT WWW.DWS.STATE.NM.US

CHILD LABOR LAW

Teen workers comprise a large percentage of our
workforce today. Young people are ready to work and
anxious to obtain work experience. In an effort to
provide work experience and protect our youth, certain
laws have been enacted which establish standardized
working conditions for minors. When both state and
federal laws apply, the law setting the more stringent
standard must be observed.

SSUANGE OF WORK PERMITS

A work permit is required by state law for
the employment of children under 16 years
of age at all times.

Work permits are issued to the child and shall be issued
only by: school superintendents, school principals,
designated school officials, or the director of the Labor
Relations Division of the New Mexico Department of

Workforce Solutions or the director's designee.

Satisfactory proof of age of the child must be provided at

the time of issuance. Examples of proof of age include but

are not limited to: birth certificate, BIA records, passport,

and government issued identification.

A work permit will be in force for a period of one year
from the date of issuance. The work permit may be
renewed at expiration by the official authorized to issue

such certificates for a period not exceeding one year.

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS

For minors age 14-15, established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Occupations involving:

@ Mining ¢ Public messenger service

@ Manufacturing ¢ Hoisting apparatus or any power-driven machinery
@ Processing, including laundry and dry cleaning o Power-driven mowers/cutters

@ Duties in workrooms e The use of auto pits, racks, and lifting apparatus

Occupations in connection with:

@ Transportation of persons or property @ Public utilities
@ Warehousing and storage @ Construction

¢ Communications

Occupations in retail food or gas service establishments:

@ Work in boiler/engine rooms e Operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or
repairing power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers,
and mixers

@ Maintenance/repair of machines and equipment
@ Outside window washing
o Cooking and baking @ Work in freezers/coolers

¢ Loading and unloading goods
* and any occupations found and declared hazardous by FLSA.

Hour Limitations

Minors 14-15 years of age may NOT be employed:

@ during school hours

o before 7:00 am or after 7:00 pm, except from June 1°
through Labor Day when evening hours are extended to
9:00 pm

more than 3 hours a day—on a school day
more than 18 hours a week—in a school week
more than 8 hours a day—on a non-school day

¢ © ¢ ¢

more than 40 hours a week—in a non-school week

There are no hour or time restrictions for minors 16 years of age and older.

PROHIBITED HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS

For minors age 16-17, established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Occupations involving or in connection with:

o Explosives @ Roofing occupations and excavation operations
@ Motor-vehicle drivers @ Metal forming, punching, shearing machines

@ Mining, including coal mining o Slaughtering/meat packing

@ Logging, including sawmill @ Power-driven bakery machines

o Power-driven wood working machinery o Paper product machines

@ Radioactive substances @ Manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products
e Hoisting apparatus e Circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears

o Elevators, cranes, derricks, hoists, and high-lift trucks ¢ Wrecking, demolition, and ship breaking



