X
Site Search GO

SUN-logo_sm

The U.S. Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training grant program (TAACCCT) provides funding for innovative projects among community colleges, employers and workforce agencies that create pathways to high-skill, high-wage jobs, and have a lasting impact on workforce education. New Mexico’s Skill Up Network (SUN) program is a consortium of New Mexico Public colleges working in connection with the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions. The goals of this partnership are to expand capacity and systematic improvements in the delivery of healthcare career pathways that align with industry needs; Increase the attainment of degrees, certifications, and industry-recognized credentials; and create strategic alignment between education and workforce systems, resulting in improved employment outcomes, retention, and average earnings.

Job Development Career Coach

The role of the Job Development Career Coach (JDCC) is to work with students throughout their educational experience and prepare them for a career upon graduation.

  • One-on-one career blueprint: development of where you want to go and how to get there.
  • Assistance in creating an effective resume, cover letter, and thank you letter or email.
  • Overview and guidance while utilizing the New Mexico Workforce Connection online system, including posting your resume for employers to see.
  • Assistance in submitting your resume to prospective employer(s).
  • Information on job fairs and summits.
  • Assessment of your skills through WorkKeys/Career Ready 101 and ProveIt!.
  • Customer Service Training, where you will receive a certificate upon completion.
  • Dress for Success: "Should I wear shorts or dress pants?"
  • Social Media: voicemail, email, Facebook, LinkedIn, and more.
  • Resume Building: how to customize your resume to obtain desired jobs.
  • Interview Techniques: the do's and don'ts.
  • Mock Interviews: enhance your interviewing skills by meeting one-on-one with employers.

Contact a Job Development Career Coach

Albuquerque Map
Central New Mexico Community College (CNM)
Samantha Garza
Albuquerque, NM
(505) 224-4134
mavrina.sanchez@state.nm.us
Albuquerque Map
Central New Mexico Community College (CNM)
Corrina Romero
Albuquerque, NM
(505) 224-4127 ext. 44127
corrina.romero@state.nm.us
Roswell Map
Eastern New Mexico University - Roswell
Alyssa Andreis
Roswell, NM
(575) 624-7019
Alyssa.Andreis@state.nm.us
Ruidoso Map
Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso
Brandie Yoxall
Ruidoso, NM
(575) 258-1730
Brandie.Yoxall@state.nm.us
Alamogordo Map
New Mexico State University - Alamogordo
Genaro Brusuelas
Alamogordo, NM
(575) 439-3862
genaro.brusuelas@state.nm.us
Los Alamos Map
University of New Mexico - Taos/Los Alamos
Nina Gonzales
Ranchos De Taos, NM
Los Alamos, NM
(575) 737-3766
ninafeliz@unm.edu
Gallup Map
University of New Mexico - Gallup
Hawana Holliday Morris
Gallup, NM
(505) 729-6319
Hawana.Morris@state.nm.us
Valencia Map
University of New Mexico - Valencia
Sharon Manzanares
Valencia, NM
(505) 925-8555
sharon.manzanares@state.nm.us
Farmington Map
San Juan College
Jeanne Winchell
4601 College Blvd
Farmington, NM 87402
(505) 566-3861
jeanne.winchell@state.nm.us
         Victor Valdez
         (505) 566-3868
          Victor.Valdez@state.nm.us
Santa Fe Map
Santa Fe Community College
R. Thaddeus Lech
6401 Richards Ave, Office 124C
Santa Fe, NM 87508
(505) 428-1748
thaddeus.lech@state.nm.us
Tucumcari Map
Mesalands Community College
Tiffany Dominguez
911 S. 10th St
Tucumcari, NM
(575) 461-4413 ext. 122
tiffany.dominguez@state.nm.us