• YouTube Twitter Instagram Facebook
  • Office Locations Contact Us

Public Hearing Notice: NM Department of Workforce Solutions will conduct a continuation of the public hearing to obtain input and public comment on proposed regulations for implementing and enforcing the Healthy Workplaces Acton on May 24, 2022. More information available here

About New Mexico Paid Sick Leave (Healthy Workplaces Act)

 

The Healthy Workplaces Act of 2021 is a law requiring all private employers in New Mexico to allow employees to accrue and use a benefit calledearned sick leave. The law takes effect on July 1, 2022. The Act lets employees earn and use paid sick leave. Employees may use this leave for various reasons listed in the Act, like the employee’s or their qualifying family member's illness or injury, or to deal with certain legal and family issues. Employers who do not honor an employee’s rights to sick leave face potential civil liability. The Act authorizes the Labor Relations Division (LRD) of the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (DWS) to investigate violations and enforce the Healthy Workplaces Act.

Employers with paid-time-off policies that are more generous than the minimum accrual and usage limits specified in Act are compliant with the Act if employees mayuse the leave for the same purposes and under the same terms and conditions specified in the Act.

The earnedsick leave required by the Act is in addition to any paid time off provided by an employer pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement unless employees may use the paid time off for the same purposes and under the same terms and conditions specified in the Act.

 

Healthy Workplaces Act Proposed Rules - PDF

Healthy Workplaces State Statute, NMSA Chapter 50, Article 17 - PDF

 

 

 

Frequently Asked Paid Sick Leave Questions

The list of all permissible purposes for which employees can use leave is in the text of the law itself. Here are a few examples of what the types of events that qualify (this list is by no means all inclusive):

  • Dental treatment
  • Medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth
  • Acupuncture
  • Child’s IEP meeting
  • Personal illness or the illness of a family member
  • Surgical procedures
  • Mental health therapy and counseling

Businesses should keep track of hours worked for salaried non-exempt employees to be able to calculate how much sick leave each employee should be accruing. For salaried exempt employees, you can assume they work 40 hours per week for accrual purposes unless you know that they regularly and customarily work fewer hours per week, in which case their leave accrual should be based on their normal hours worked per week. The recordkeeping and notice requirements of the HWA applies equally to all classifications of employees.

To determine what pay salaried exempt or salaried non-exempt employees whose hours fluctuate from week to week should receive for sick leave hours used, convert their annual salary into a weekly salary, and divide that amount by a standard 40 hours. That will give you the employee’s salary broken down into an hourly amount. Employers must ensure that the employee gets paid at least that amount per hour of sick leave used. Furthermore, 40 hours is the assumption, but if you know the exempt employee works fewer than 40 hours per week, you must divide their weekly salary by their standard hours instead of 40. On the other hand, if they typically work more than 40 hours, still just divide by 40.

For salaried non-exempt employees or employees whose weekly hours don’t fluctuate, you do the same math but instead of using a standard 40 hours, you use the number of hours that employee works in a regular work week.

State law, including the HWA, supersedes federal law where the protection afforded an employee under the state law offers greater protection to the employee than the federal law. Similarly, to the extent that a municipal or county ordinance provides for greater employee protections than state law, an employer must comply with the provisions most protective to employees. 

If your unlimited leave may be used for all the same purposes and under the same (or more generous) terms and conditions as what the Act requires, including those related to notice and documentation, you will be compliant. However, you will have to keep track of any time used for HWA purposes so that if a complaint is filed against you, the Division will be able to determine whether that employee accrued and was allowed to use the mandatory minimum amounts of leave.

Whichever way employees accrue sick leave—whether through frontloading or continuous accrual—at least 64 hours of unused leave must be carried over each year. Yes, that could result in an employee having a balance of 128 hours, even if the employer’s policy limits annual use to 64 hours. If an employee used some of their paid sick leave during the year so they have fewer than 64 hours remaining in their balance, then the employer would have to carry over all unused hours.

A minimum of 64 hours of accrued but unused sick leave must carry over for each employee each year. If your company policy allows for it, employees can choose to sell back unused leave in excess of 64 hours, in which case the Department’s interpretation would be that the excess leave is no longer considered unused or subject to the carryover requirement.  However, this would only apply to unused leave over 64 hours.

Here are some examples:

  • Individuals performing services in peoples’ home for compensation are covered by the Act unless they are sole proprietors.
  • Independent contractors and subcontractors are not employees under the Act. But employers should be cautious to not misclassify these workers as contractors to avoid having to comply with the Act; the Act includes penalties for doing so. 
  • Corporate officers and company owners might be considered employees under the Act if they perform services for renumeration as set forth in their governing documents such as by-laws, operating agreements, corporate resolutions, etc.
  • Sole proprietors are not considered employees but any other individual performing services for the sole proprietor for remuneration would be. For example, a sole proprietor attorney would not be an employee, but the attorney’s paid legal assistant would be.
  • Employees of charitable, religious, or non-profit organizations are covered by the Act, as distinguished from people volunteering with such organizations.

(Example 1: frontload for salaried employees and use accrual of 1 hour per 30 hours worked for hourly or part-time employees. Example 2: frontload for current employees on January 1st each year and use accrual of 1 hour per 30 hours worked for new employees hired during that year.)

Yes, but the business should ensure they are clear about which employees fall within each category, and keep records of hours worked, leave accrued, and leave used for employees in all categories. All employees must also accrue PSL at a rate of at least 1 hour for every 30 hours work regardless of which category they are in.

12345

Contact Labor Relations Division

Albuquerque Map
Albuquerque
401 Broadway Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 505-841-4400
Fax: 505-841-4424
Las Cruces Map
Las Cruces
226 South Alameda Blvd
Las Cruces NM 88005
Phone: 575-524-6195
Fax: 575-524-6194

Resources, Guides, and Training

 
Paid Sick Leave Poster
 
Resources
 
Paid Sick Leave Information Webinar

The Healthy Workplaces Act (HWA) takes effect in New Mexico on July 1, 2022. Is your business ready? Join us for an informational webinar that will introduce the HWA, discuss what your business should do now to prepare, and provide ample opportunity to ask questions from Department of Workforce Solutions (NMDWS) Labor Relations Division subject matter experts. Employers will leave the session with a better understanding of the law, be prepared to incorporate the requirements into their business practices, and know where to find additional HWA resources from NMDWS. Each webinar will take place on Zoom, available dates and times are listed below.

  • Become an application

    Developer

    Develop, create, and modify general computer applications software or specialized utility programs. Analyze user needs and develop software solutions. Design software or customize software for client use with the aim of optimizing operational efficiency. May analyze and design databases within an application area, working individually or coordinating database development as part of a team. May supervise computer programmers.

  • Do you want to become a

    Plumber?

    Assemble, install, alter and repair pipelines or pipe systems that carry water, steam, air or other liquids or gases. May install heating and cooling equipment and mechanical control systems.

  • Do you want to become an

    Ironworker?

    Raise, place and unite iron or steel girders, columns and other structural members to form completed structures or structural frameworks. May erect metal storage tanks and assemble prefabricated metal buildings.

  • Do you want to become an

    Electrician?

    Perform preliminary work with the material and tools of the trade; residential and commercial rough wiring and finish work including the installation of various kinds of wires, cables and conduits per the National Electrical Code; industrial lighting and service installation; motors controls and installation including emergency generators, relays and timing devices.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us and we'll do our best to answer your questions.