X
GO

Updates

Beginning in January 2019, employers are now able to electronically file appeals of their Unemployment Insurance tax rates and other similar tax notices through the Unemployment Insurance Tax & Claims System. This new self-service functionality allows employers to quickly and easily file appeals of tax determinations and upload documentation in support of their appeal.

Benefit charges play a large role in employers’ contribution rates. Employers can often avoid an improper payment of benefits by simply responding to the initial claim in a timely and thorough fashion. When a claimant files for benefits, the claimant is required to answer detailed questions regarding his or her employment and the manner of separation from employment. An employer potentially subject to benefit charges will receive a notice from the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (NMDWS) advising that a claim has been filed and requesting information regarding the claimant’s work and separation from employment. Employers have 10 days to respond to that notice. Failure to respond to the notice can lead to improper payment of benefits which will be charged to the employer. Furthermore, if an employer appeals a decision to payment of benefits, an employer who failed to respond within the 10-day deadline may still be liable for some benefit charges, even if the employer prevails in showing that the claimant was not eligible for benefits.

Federal law requires NMDWS to charge employers for Unemployment Insurance benefit payments improperly paid to unemployed individuals when the employer has established a pattern of failing to timely and adequately respond to requests from NMDWS for separation information during a calendar year. The law applies to employers determined by NMDWS to have established a pattern of at least five (5) occurrences of failing to timely and adequately respond to requests for separation information, without good cause, during a calendar year (NMAC 11.3.300.308(C)).

Log in to the Unemployment Insurance Tax & Claims System

Account Activation

Employers currently registered with NMDWS must activate their account first before they can login to the Unemployment Insurance Tax System. PLEASE NOTE: Click the Account Activation button above, then click on "Account Activation" link on the left-hand side of the screen, and then enter your Employer Account Number (EAN) and Activation Password which were mailed to you to begin your account activation.

Employer Login

Employers can register a new business, login to initiate account maintenance and authorize access for an agent who does business on your behalf.

Agent Login

Agents can login to register as a Third Party Administrator.

 

How to Register in the UI system

New employers subject to Unemployment Insurance taxes must register with NMDWS on to the Unemployment Insurance Tax Self-Service System.

Register Here

After registering with NMDWS, you will receive an Employer Account Number (EAN) that must be used for conducting all business with NMDWS. You will also receive a notice with a NMDWS Unemployment Insurance Tax System User ID and Password. You must activate your account before NMDWS can accept your wage records and contribution payments.

Contacts

For any Unemployment Insurance Tax questions, please contact the UI Operations Center at 1-877-664-6984, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. or email uitax.support@state.nm.us.

Send Mail to:

Albuquerque Map

New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
PO BOX 1928
ALBUQUERQUE, NM 87103