• YouTube Twitter/XTwitter/X Instagram Facebook
  • Office Locations Contact Us

How do I do business with the Department of Workforce Solutions?

By seeking opportunities and submitting competitive bids and proposals in response to publicly advertised requests. For procurements expected to be greater than $60,000 ($60,000 for professional services) formal solicitations are issued and sealed bids or proposals must be submitted. Procurements less than $60,000 ($60,000 for professional services) are handled by New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions (NMDWS)and are based on three valid quotes (for values over $20,000 and not exceeding $60,000) or from the vendor offering the "best obtainable price" at or below $20,000. 

Does the State offer a preference for Minority Owned Businesses, Women Owned Businesses, Disabled Veteran Owned Businesses or the like when selecting vendors for contract awards?

No, New Mexico law makes no provision for preferences for any of the referenced groups. The only preferences provided for in law are a maximum of 7,8 and 10% preference for Resident Veteran Business and 5% preference for Resident Businesses, Resident Manufacturers and Resident Contractors. Please contact Department of Taxation and Revenue at 505-827-0951 for more information. 

Who do I contact to get a vendor preference?

As of October 5, 2011, applications for in-state preference will no longer be processed through the State Purchasing Division. All resident businesses, veterans and contractors will have to obtain a preference number with the NM Department of Taxation & Revenue. For additional information please call 505-827-0951.

What is the grace period for the submission of bids or proposals?

There is none. Vendors or offerors are fully responsible for their bids or proposals, including getting them to the State Purchasing Division, up until the point that the bid or proposal is presented to us for receipt. If your delivery person (including a member of your staff or your selected express mail delivery service) fails to deliver a bid or proposal before the receipt deadline, the full responsibility falls on the vendor or offeror. A bid or proposal received at 2:01, in response to a 2:00 deadline, will be considered non-responsive and will not be eligible for consideration. Vendors and offerors are encouraged to submit their responses at least one day early to insure against unforeseen delivery issues such as weather or traffic problems.

How can I get my vendor number?

Under our new online vendor registration system, the State Purchasing Division does not require a vendor number. For your Vendor number information through the States Financial System you can contact the Department of Finance and Administration.



  • Do you want to become an

    Applications Developer?

    Develop, create, and modify general computer applications software or specialized utility programs. Analyze user needs and develop software solutions. Design software or customize software for client use with the aim of optimizing operational efficiency.

  • Do you want to become a


    Assemble, install, alter, and repair pipelines or pipe systems that carry water, steam, air, or other liquids or gases. May install heating and cooling equipment and mechanical control systems.

  • Do you want to become an


    Raise, place, and unite iron or steel girders, columns, and other structural members to form completed structures or structural frameworks. May erect metal storage tanks and assemble prefabricated metal buildings.

  • Do you want to become an


    Perform preliminary work with the material and tools of the trade; residential and commercial rough wiring and finish work including the installation of various kinds of wires, cables, and conduits per the National Electrical Code; industrial lighting and service installation; motors controls and installation including emergency generators, relays, and timing devices.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us and we'll do our best to answer your questions.